Why are you still searching?

I’m always on a search. I think all of us, at some point in our lives, are on a search.

What do we search for?

  • Comfort
  • Happiness
  • Identity
  • Love
  • Satisfaction
  • Acceptance
  • Security
  • Attention
  • Intimacy

The list varies from person to person, but these are areas my soul personally longs for.

Here’s where it gets real: Where do we search for ______?

If you are anything like all of the rest of humanity (yes, you are!), you alone, without God, are imperfect and fall short of righteousness and holiness. We are naturally prone to look in the wrong places.

“Prone to wander, Lord I feel it, prone to leave the God I love.”

You may time after time find yourself looking for unconditional love, comfort, and security in a significant other. You constantly yearn for their love, which they will offer you to the best of their ability if it is in God’s will. But what happens if his or her best isn’t enough? You keep trying to force more and more love out of them; it eats at your soul and squeezes the life out of him or her. That is placing an unfair and unbearable burden on them, which is not in line with God’s will. After all, they are only just an imperfect human like you are! From personal experience, that leads me to feeling more broken than before. As amazing and as godly as he or she may be, only God can truly fill those voids.

“Why are you still searching for love as if I’m not enough?”

Can I be real with y’all? (This is where you nod your head, “Of course, Dolce,”) I myself have been blindly climbing back into this rut time after time of hunting for my identity and love and basically all of the above in people and places other than where I should be looking (God!).

For example, the other day I was feeling pretty blah. Ya know, those days where you wake up with numerous new pimples and you’re just not feeling too special? So I proceeded to get my hair done, pamper myself, and have may eyebrows threaded. That should fix all of my problems right?! 😉 Plot twist: I still felt crumby. Maybe even worse.

I went home, fell to my knees, and poured out my heart to God.

So many worries and fixations inside my head had been cluttering my mind, I was looking for satisfaction and comfort in the wrong place the whole time.


Jeremiah 31:3 says God loves us with an everlasting love. His love is perfect, it is what we have been searching for.

Jeremiah 29:11 says God already knows the plans He has for you, they are plans to give you a hope and a future. In our Lord we find security.

Zephaniah 3:17 says God takes great delight in His children. We have His full acceptance.

1 Peter 5:7 says we can cast all our anxiety and worries on Him because He cares for us. In Him we can find comfort and peace.

Colossians 2:10 says we are complete in Christ. In Jesus Christ, our broken pieces are beautifully glued back together.

XOXO, Dolce

Leave a Reply

