Not-so-typical detox.

I woke up today with my Daddy God tugging on my heart. I could feel Him calling me. I knew today was a “detox” day.

No, not a 14-day green juice cleanse. [let’s be honest, you’d never catch me doing that #ilikefood]

de·tox
informal
noun
ˈdētäks/
1. a process or period of time in which one abstains from or rids the body of toxic or unhealthy substances; detoxification.

Ridding the body–and MIND–of toxic & unhealthy things. Meaning, purging things from my life that do not bring me closer to my Lord.

For me, I knew I needed to “spring clean” the accounts I follow on Instagram for this blog. I often find myself wandering fitness Instagrams, becoming envious of other girl’s bodies & becoming more and more insecure about mine.
THIS IS NOT HEALTHY.
I immediately unfollowed 100+ people. No, not because they are horrible people. In fact, they are probably wonderful! But for me, seeing them post progress pictures everyday of their beautifully toned legs & lean stomach, leads me further away from God.

He calls me “fearfully & wonderfully made“. He calls me beautiful. He calls me worthy. He calls me HIS.

Motivation to be healthy is good. I’m not saying it is not! But when this because an idol in front of God in our life, this is where it becomes toxic. That goes for anything–a career, academic performance, a significant other, food.

Put on your new nature, and be renewed as you learn to know your Creator and become like him.
Colossians‬ ‭3‬:‭10‬ NLT

What do you need to detox from your life today?

XOXO, Dolce

One thought on “Not-so-typical detox.

Leave a Reply

