Last Day of 2014 + Tuna Cakes Recipe

Happy New Year’s Eve everyone! ๐Ÿ˜€
Jeez, I almost can’t believe 2014 is over. This whole year has gone by in a flash. Like…did this year even happen?! From beginning my 3rd year of college/1st year at University of Houston to the beginning of a beautiful relationship with a wonderful guy whom God has so unfathomably blessed me with–it’s been one awesome year, to say the least. โค

176d8d63ca4badff5322c00a22187c9d

I’m not the one to make new year resolution, per say. But here is my list of things I will be doing MY best to do/change throughout this year and beyond. I like to call them life changes rather than resolutions, they don’t stop when 2015 is up!

  • Have quiet time & prayer everyday
  • Be ALL THERE when I’m with my friends & family (i.e. getting off my phone..)
  • Find balance with exercise & nutrition for my body
  • Be still. Take a break. Chill the heck out. Genuinely enjoy my life.
  • Be okay with not being perfect & understand I never will be perfect and that is ok

Well there you have it! Luckily I have the most amazing people in my life how can keep me accountable to making these voluntary changes. I won’t be perfect at it, and that’s ok–hence my last point ๐Ÿ™‚

Side note: I finally got my hair cut today. New year, new do. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_5559

Also, this morning I decided to do some cardio after my arm workout this morning. Who am I? To those who know me, they know cardio and I usually don’t see eye-to-eye. It’s a love-hate relationship, that’s for sure! I have been neglecting my endurance & cardiovascular health lately so I’ve been making an effort to get in some good ‘ol cardio a few times a week. My favorite cardio is HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) on the stairmaster, dreadmill treadmill, and battle ropes.

IMG_5544


Now onto my new recipe!

IMG_5563

Tuna Cakes:

  • can of tuna (I use solid white albacore tuna in water)
  • an egg
  • a couple handfuls of chopped spinach
  • a couple spoonfuls of feta cheese
  • 1 tsp. mustard (regular works, grey poupon or deli mustard would be yummy as well)
  • pepper to taste

Shape into 3-4 tuna cakes on a heated skillet. Cook about 3 minutes each side.

IMG_5561

Topped mine off with a half of an avocado! This recipe is full of protein & healthy fats making it a nice healthy pick-me-up meal.

Have a blessed & safe New Year’s Eve!

XOXO, Dolce

2 thoughts on “Last Day of 2014 + Tuna Cakes Recipe

Leave a Reply

