Thinking Out Loud #1

Howdy friends! Couldn’t wait to kick off my blog with a random collection of thoughts & musings, or a Thinking Out Loud post (thanks for hosting it, Amanda!). ๐Ÿ™‚ So without further ado…

Thinking-Out-Loud

1. New years resolutions: Yea yea yea, no eye rolls please. I know resolutions are becoming so “uncool” lately, but hey, I still make them and do my best to see them through! (Unless it’s something like “give up sugar”, haha NO.) My first and most prioritized goal is to have quiet time immersed in my bible, soaking up His Word. To be honest, I have really been slacking the last few months with cracking open my bible, and have been feeling a bit “spiritually constipated” (ha, just think about it). My goal is to start my day off with a daily devoltional, bible reading, and prayer to begin my day. Everytime I do so, it really helps set the tone for the rest of my day!

1510543_10202163418638351_809064656_n

2. Speaking of New Years, I had the most enjoyable New Years Eve I have had ever! My friends and I got together for a fun night of laughs, eats, and fellowship, complete with an awesome bonfire. I love these people to pieces, they are truly my sisters and brothers in Christ.

My friend decorated the cutest mason jars to hold our sparkling grape juice!

My friend decorated the cutest mason jars to hold our sparkling grape juice!

We had s’mores, which by the way are one of my favorite sweet treats. They remind me of my childhood girl scout camping trips. Speaking of s’mores, am I the only one who loves a super toasty (read: slighty burnt) marshmallow on their s’mores? My friends picked fun at me for setting my marshmallows on fire a good couple of times prior to eating them. I just like ’em toasty ๐Ÿ˜€

My favorite people around our NYE fiyyyaaa.

My favorite people around our NYE fiyyyaaa.

3. I am currently really interested in holistic natural remedies. It all started about a month ago when I came down with strep throat and a cold. Apparently strep+a cold=a flu like combo. Not fun :/ Anyways, the cold has stuck around for about a month and with my status of being fed up, Iย have been researching natural remedies for infections and overall health. I am currently drinking warm lemon water every morning to sooth my throat, get punch of Vitamin C first thing in the morning, and detox my organs. It actually makes me feel awesome, and I wake up CRAVING warm lemon water. I also am taking 1 tablespoon of unfiltered apple cider vinegar 2-3 times a day, which apparently is the “ultimate natural remedy” that Hippocratesย used.ย I will keep y’all up to date with my progress back to health!

4. Confession: We still haven’t taken down our Christmas decorations. And I haven’t stopped playing Michael Buble Christmas music on Pandora. And have no intention of doing so.ย Shhhh ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. Do you ever say a word over and over until it sounds really weird? No, really. For instance, say poodle a couple of times and reallyyy think about the word. Poodle. Poodle. Poodle. #whydoihavefriends

6. Here are a couple pinterest pins that caught my eye lately:

Amen.

Amen.

This kale pesto looks delish! I am a lover of anything pesto, and although kale is not my favorite, this looks awesome.

This kale pesto looks delish! I am a lover of anything pesto, and although kale is not my favorite, this looks awesome.

Love this simple addition of white string lights and white curtains. Would be perfect for a dorm :D

Love this simple addition of white string lights and white curtains. Would be perfect for a dorm ๐Ÿ˜€

#storyofmylife

#storyofmylife

I am officially turning in for the night. I need all the rest I can get to fight off this infection.

Peace out, lovies.

XOXO, Dolce

11 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud #1

  1. The e-card about serving sizes is seriously my life- especially when it comes to peanut butter and hummus! I mean, two tablespoons…that’s it?!
    And I totally know what you mean about repeating a word until it just sounds weird. I do that all the time, haha. Happy New Year!

  2. Hey girl! Omigoodness welcome to the blogging world! And I love that your first post was a random collection of thoughts — perfect way to get to know someone ๐Ÿ˜€

    That devotional is seriously one of my favourite things ever. I started mine halfway through last year, and I’ve made it a goal to start each day this year with a reading of it as well — it definitely sets the perfect tone. And no shame about the Christmas decor! I leave mine up until AT LEAST the middle of January ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks for the warm welcome, Amanda! I’ve been trying to get into the blog world for a loooong time, but kept putting it off (kind of like my school work… ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). Can’t wait to get immersed into this community and really find my voice!

      Both my mom and I are reading that devo and LOVING it so far. The devos are fairly short, but each one is SO on point and really resonates in my soul. Haha, yeaaa those decorations are showing no signs of moving any time soon!

  3. Uhm. Our Christmas tree is still up too. Thanks for the reminder. Need to get going on that. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve made kale pesto a few times and it’s lovely. I also often times do 1/2 kale, 1/2 parsley. Delish. I especially love it with a dab of marinara on pizza ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Haha no shame in still having the tree up! I think they are so pretty, I hate to take them down.
        I can’t wait to try that recipe! I have a mild obsession with pesto so this recipe is right up my alley. And it’s a great way to sneak in kale to my diet.
        Thank you so much! That means a lot, I was worried I’de sound like such a “noob”. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Three words: I LOVE YOU. Your new blog is epic Dolce!!!!
    And what a great first post, I can SO relate to that ecard hahaha whenever I see those veggie steamer things that’re like 4 servings per bag I’m like uhhhh more like 1/2 a serving! I guess our appetites are considered small families ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • ALEX MY FRAND! I swear we are twins. Thank you so much girly :)) You. Are. Awesome.
      But yea, “that 3/4 cup serving of cereal really filled me up!”..said no one EVER.

Leave a Reply

